

DigitalCommons@NYLS

Committees

United States Circuit Judge for the Second Circuit Court of Appeals

2-9-1987

Correspondence: Inaugural Ceremony

Second Circuit Steering Committee on the Bicentennial of the U.S. Constitution

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.nyls.edu/committees



SECOND CIRCUIT COMMITTEE ON THE BICENTENNIAL OF THE UNITED STATES CONSTIT

James L. Oakes

FEB 09 1987

ROGER J. MINER U.S. CIRCUIT JUDGE NEW YORK, NEW YORK

Chairman

Floyd Abrams Sidney H. Asch Phylis Skloot Bamberger Barbara Black Evan A. Davis Raymond J. Dearie Norman Dorsen Robert B. Fiske, Jr. Marvin E. Frankel Barry H. Garfinkel Paul B. Gewirtz John D. Gordan, III Charles S. Haight Thomas L. Hayes Alan J. Hruska Patricia M. Hynes Irving R. Kaufman John J. Kennev Robert MacCrate Robert B. McKay Thomas J. Meskill Bernard S. Meyer G.G. Michaelson Roger J. Miner Richard B. Morris Constance Baker Motley Eleanor Jackson Piel Lawrence W. Pierce Bettina B. Plevan Jo K. Pulvermacher Norman Redlich Edward L. Sadowsky Shira Scheindlin Frederick A.O. Schwarz, Jr. Whitney North Seymour, Jr. Leon Silverman Lyman M. Tondel, Jr.

Wilfred Feinberg Chief Judge

Edward Weinfeld Douglas W. Wyatt The Second Circuit Committee on the

Bicentennial of the United States Constitution
invites you to its inaugural ceremony on
February 24, 1987, 4:30 P.M., in Room 110 of the
United States Courthouse, 40 Centre Street,
New York, NY 10007. The ceremony commemorates the
February 1787 Call for a Convention to revise the
Articles of Confederation.

Chief Judge Wilfred Feinberg and Judge James L.

Oakes, Chairman of the Bicentennial Committee, will

make remarks. Professor Richard B. Morris, Gouverneur

Morris Professor of History at Columbia University and
editor of the John Jay Papers will speak on the New

York role in the Call for a Convention.

Following the ceremony, the Committee is sponsoring a reception in the Courthouse.