

DigitalCommons@NYLS

Committees

United States Circuit Judge for the Second Circuit Court of Appeals

7-14-1987

## Press Release - Constitutional Convention Weekly News Poster

Second Circuit Steering Committee on the Bicentennial of the U.S. Constitution

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.nyls.edu/committees
Part of the Courts Commons, and the Judges Commons

\*\*PRESS RELEASE\*\*

## SECOND CIRCUIT COMMITTEE ON THE BICENTENNIAL OF THE UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION

James L. Oakes Chairman

Floyd Abrams Sidney H. Asch Phylis Skloot Bamberger **Barbara Black** Evan A. Davis Raymond J. Dearie Norman Dorsen Robert B. Fiske, Jr. Marvin E. Frankel Barry H. Garfinkel Paul D. Gewirtz John D. Gordan, III Charles S. Haight Thomas L. Hayes Alan J. Hruska Patricia M. Hynes Irving R. Kaufman John J. Kenney Robert MacCrate Robert B. McKay Thomas J. Meskili Bernard S. Meyer G.G. Michaelson Roger J. Miner **Richard B. Morris Constance Baker Motley** Eleanor Jackson Piel Lawrence W. Pierce **Bettins B. Plevan** Jo K. Pulvermacher Norman Redlich Edward L. Sadowsky Shira Scheindlin Frederick A.O. Schwarz, Jr. Whitney North Seymour, Jr. Leon Silverman Lyman M. Tondel, Jr. Edward Weinfeld Douglas W. Wyatt

Wilfred Feinberg Chief Judge NEWS POSTERS

ROGER J. MINER U.S. CIRCUIT JUDGE NEW YORK, NEW YORK

JUL 1 4 1987

The Second Circuit Committee on the Bicentennial of the United States Constitution-is distributing to all the courthouses and other public buildings in the Second Circuit weekly news posters announcing events of the period of the Constitutional Convention (May 25 - September 17, 1787). Julia Precht, a California graphic artist, designed the striking black-and-white news posters. Phylis Skloot Bamberger, Esq., co-chair of the Subcommittee for Public Education, researched and conceived the text for the poster series.

The posters highlight the Convention's controversies and resolutions. For example, the news poster for June 27 - July 3, 1787, reads: "DEADLOCK! Will the States be equally represented in the legislature? Dr. Franklin suggests prayer." The news poster for July 12 - 18 focuses on the issue of slavery: "THE CONNECTICUT COMPROMISE--Proportionate representation in one chamber counting 3/5 of slaves--Equal representation in the other. The Congress prohibits slavery in the North West Territory." The news posters also summarize the debate about the three-branch system of government. There are even a few personal notes, for instance: "Convention in recess. Washington goes fishing and visits Valley Forge."

For further information call Peninah Petruck, Assistant Circuit Executive for Public Programs at (212) 791-0977.

## SECOND CIRCUIT COMMITTEE ON THE BICENTENNIAL OF THE UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION

James L. Oakes Chairman

Floyd Abrams Sidney H. Asch Phylis Skloot Bamberger Barbara Black Evan A. Davis Raymond J. Dearie Norman Dorsen Robert B. Fiske, Jr. Marvin E. Frankel Barry H. Garfinkel Paul D. Gewirtz John D. Gordan, III Charles S. Haight Thomas L. Hayes Alan J. Hruska Patricia M. Hynes Irving R. Kaufman John J. Kenney **Robert MacCrate** Robert B. McKay Thomas J. Meskill Bernard S. Meyer G.G. Michaelson Roger J. Miner **Richard B. Morris Constance Baker Motiey** Eleanor Jackson Piel Lawrence W. Pierce Bettina B. Plevan Jo K. Pulvermacher Norman Redlich Edward L. Sadowsky Shira Scheindlin Frederick A.O. Schwarz, Jr. Whitney North Seymour, Jr. Leon Silverman Lyman M. Tondel, Jr. Edward Weinfeld Douglas W. Wyatt

Wilfred Feinberg Chief Judge

ł

1

## FIRST EGBERT BENSON AWARD

Circuit Judge Lawrence W. Pierce presented the First Egbert Benson Award to John D. Gordan III, Esq. Of his many outstanding contributions to the Second Circuit, Mr. Gordan is currently chairman of the Commemorative Events Subcommittee of the Second Circuit Committee on the Bicentennial of the United States Constitution and co-chair--with Judge Pierce --of the Second Circuit Historical Subcommittee on Exhibits. The presentation set the stage for the opening on June 17, 1987 of "Egbert Benson, First Chief Judge of the Second Circuit," an exhibit which Mr. Gordan researched and created.

The Egbert Benson Award commends Mr. Gordan as a responsible, enthusiastic and creative participant in the activities of the circuit that benefit the bench, the bar, and the public. Mr. Gordan is the first recipient of the newly established award. The award is a unique opportunity for the circuit and those who enjoy working with John Gordan to honor him. Chief Judge

;

Wilfred Feinberg cosigned the award on behalf of the Second Circuit with Judge James L. Oakes, Chairman of the Second Circuit Historical Committee.

;

For further information call Peninah Petruck, Assistant Circuit Executive for Public Programs at (212) 791-0977.